smokingrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Social Phobia, School

Tonight KV and I braved the snow storm to make it to Heckel's to see Mixed Fruit (as many as could show up). Actually, the drive wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. It's mainly on the interstate system, and in Wisconsin, it's kept up pretty well when roads are bad in winter.

Karl made my day pretty much. He said to Gary, KV, Ryan, Robyn, and I that we were really the only people he listened to (and the other Mixed Fruit - Jacob) -- actually listened to. Other people he just sort of tunes out.

It made me feel good because sometimes I feel as though I'm trying to express something and people just aren't listening. Hell, even KV sometimes seems like she's not listening to me.

***
When KV and I got home, I was just freaking out. Because of my currrent financial situation, I've been stressed out. Whatever it was, it triggered my social phobia in a big ol' relapse way. I curled up and was crying. Yeah. One of those times.

***
Jerry, KV, and I went out to a chinese buffett for lunch today. I got a lot accomplished. I filled out the paperwork for TAing again, and I bumped up the religious studies minor up to a major.

We are in a bit of a jam though. Jerry is teaching 4 classes. One of the students who expressed interest couldn't fit any one of the classes into his schedule. So it's just me so far. I interview the other student on Monday afternoon. Hopefully I won't scare him off. If I don't, it would be wicked if he could take both of the intro to world religions classes. That would leave me with both basic issues in religions classes.

I told Jerry that I would just TA both of the issues classes. It would be easier that way. I'll get 3 more credits, another A to boost my GPA, and I enjoy TAing.

I won't get any credit for the second issues class, but I figure I can either count that as volunteer work or paid work when applying for grad schools (whenever I'll get to do that).

***
I dropped my literature of fact class after seeing that I needed to buy 9 books to read. Yeah, I don't think so!

Then I added Women and Politics instead. Then I dropped it after checking around about the prof that's teaching it.

Luckily I still have 12 credits, and technically it would be 15 credits.

Besides, the book I bought for women and politics was only $4.00 used on amazon (as opposed to $51 new and $38 used at the uni book store), so it's no big loss. It looks like an interesting book anyway.

***

I'll have plenty of time to rest during the school day, as well as do homework.

After walking around campus today for just a short, short distance, I discovered that it tires me the hell out and makes me a little sore due to surgery. So I don't feel too bad for dropping the women and politics class.

I also don't feel bad for deciding not to add a class in its place (like modern christianity or religious themes in literature). I need to take it easy this semester so I can heal up completely at the 6 month mark.

****

You know, I had a whole thought before, and now I've forgotten it. haha I think I should try to sleep.

6:44 am - Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

robynt
hamiltonian