smokingrrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

University Bookstores = price gouging

I have 3 books I need to purchase for 2 of my classes for the upcoming semester. A friend of mine told me what 2 of those books cost at the university bookstore - the brand new price and the used price.

As soon as I got home tonight, I looked on amazon to see what the prices (new and used) were there.

Wouldn't you know it - all my books are cheaper through amazon than through the university bookstore -- no matter if I buy them used or new.

What a crock.

Side note: I ended up buying one of the books new at amazon for less than $10, when the bookstore was selling a brand new copy for $20-$25. When I go get my rental texts, I'm going to confirm my other purchase books are the ones I wishlisted on amazon before I purchase them.

At least they are interesting books:

Extraordinary Bodies
History of Sexuality (vol. 1)
Intersex and Identity
**
I've also noticed that anything sold at the university bookstore that I may want to own (a comfy sweatshirt or a t-shirt) is outrageously marked up. Seriously, does a champion sweatshirt really need to be so expensive? The cheapest sweatshirt that was being sold was $35! Insane, I tell ya.

Of course the t-shirts in my price range (read: less than my cell phone bill) are never available in the size I wear. Sheesh.

I'm tempted to just design my own shit, and say "Fuck you!" to Barnes and Noble (they "run" the university bookstore at my school).
**
I'm guessing that the following observation is true of all universities and secondary schools.

3:04 am - Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

robynt
hamiltonian